At Cory Roth Law Office, we don’t shy away from a fight. We are
committed to doing whatever it takes to defend your rights.

Houston Felony DWI Lawyer

Aggressively Fighting Serious Criminal Charges on Your Behalf

Being accused of driving while intoxicated (DWI) in Texas is often scary since the penalties include costly fines and driver’s license suspension. However, felony DWI charges are even more worrisome than regular DWIs since they could result in up to a decade in prison. If you want the chance to maintain your freedom and your driving privileges, you need to hire an experienced Houston felony DWI lawyer to fight your charges in court.

When you hire an attorney from the Cory Roth Law Office, you will have a caring, trusted legal professional advising you during every step of your criminal case. Call us today to learn how we can defend you from serious felony charges in Texas.

When Is a DWI a Felony in Texas?

In most cases, a first or second DWI in Texas is considered a misdemeanor. But certain factors can raise this offense to the more serious level of a felony. The following are the types of felony DWIs you can get while driving in Texas:

  • DWI with a child passenger
  • Third or subsequent DWI
  • Intoxication assault
  • Intoxication manslaughter

So, if you were caught driving while impaired with a passenger under the age of 15, you will likely be charged with a state jail felony. Similarly, if you were convicted of DWI two or more times in the past, your third DWI charge will be a felony since you’re considered a habitual offender.

If you’re accused of harming or killing someone while driving drunk, your felony DWI charge and the penalties that come with it will be extremely serious. For example, if you caused a car accident that resulted in serious bodily injury to someone, you’ll be charged with intoxication assault, a second-degree felony. If you caused a car accident that resulted in someone’s death, you will be charged with intoxication manslaughter, a first-degree felony.

Regardless of which degree of felony you’re facing, you need a lawyer to defend you from the most severe penalties associated with the crime. Contact our Houston law firm to learn how our legal team can protect you from severe penalties that include prison time.

What Are the Penalties of a Felony DWI in Texas?

Most people charged with a felony DWI in Texas face at least two years in state prison unless their lawyer can get the case dismissed, charges reduced, or a not-guilty verdict. If you’re unsure if you should hire a lawyer to fight your charges or simply plead guilty, it’s best to get an idea of what penalties you could get if convicted.

The specific consequences of your felony DWI conviction vary depending on your charge. If you were accused of driving impaired with a minor passenger in your car, you could end up with six months to two years in jail. If you were arrested for your third or subsequent DWI, you could be fined up to $10,000 and spend two to ten years in state prison. If you were charged with intoxication assault or intoxication manslaughter in Texas, your prison time could range from two to ten years.

With any of these felony DWI offenses, you can also be fined up to $10,000 and your driver’s license could be suspended for up to two years. Additionally, you will likely have to complete an alcohol education program, install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle, and handle any other penalties the court determines to be suitable. Your Houston felony DWI lawyer will ensure you understand the possible penalties before creating a defense angle for your case.

What Are Common Felony DWI Defenses?

If you’re considering fighting your charges, you should contact an experienced felony DWI lawyer to carefully review your situation. Once they understand what led to your charge, they can work on strategic ways to fight it. This will depend on the specific circumstances of your Texas DWI case.

For example, if the evidence against you is mainly that you failed the field sobriety tests, your lawyer will work on proving to the court that these tests are often inaccurate and cannot be relied upon to prove that you were impaired. If you took a breath or blood test that suggested you were intoxicated while driving, your lawyer will look for clues that the device used for the test was not calibrated or that your blood sample was improperly stored, leading to inaccurate results.

If you were accused of driving while impaired with a passenger under age 15, but your passenger was actually 15 or older, your lawyer will argue this point in court. In addition, if the alleged victim of the accident you caused suffered minor injuries, not serious bodily injuries, your lawyer might use this evidence to fight an intoxication assault charge. If you’re curious about what your legal defense could be, contact the Cory Roth Law Office to discuss your case.

Are You Ready to Hire a Houston Felony DWI Lawyer?

If you’ve been charged with a felony in Texas, don’t try to handle your case alone. You deserve answers from a skilled Houston felony DWI lawyer who has won cases for numerous Texas drivers. At our law firm, we know how scary it is to think about spending up to ten years in prison for a mistake behind the wheel, especially if the accusation against you is inaccurate. That’s why we want you to know we’re here to help from start to finish.

If you’re unsure what the DWI charges against you mean or whether you have a chance of avoiding conviction in the Texas court system, we encourage you to call us for some peace of mind. Our goal is to attain the best possible outcome on your case, and we’re eager to get started, so contact us today at 832-400-4133.